Ms. K’s Korner

My name is Sahar Khatri and I’m a first year math teacher with fears, anxieties, hopes, and a whole load of excitement.  I teach 6th grade math in a new middle school in the Bronx. 

I’ve wanted to be a teacher for as long as I could remember–well except for one summer when I wanted to be an interior designer (which I owe to watching HGTV each second I was awake. Thank you DesignStar!). I’ve had remarkable teachers throughout my life and before I even went to college, I knew what I wanted to do with the rest of my life.  Now years of undergrad + grad school + student teaching + tutoring … here I am.

This currently paints a true picture of my energy by the end of the week, but even then…I love what I do.

 

Image

Here are a few things that I love about my job:

  •  I love walking into work every (well let’s be real…”mostly every“) morning and spending the first 25 minutes of my day with my advisory students. Particularly I love using the “Connection Protocol” with them.  
  • I love that even on the crappiest days I can list about three good things that have happened. The good things are usually remarks, shenanigans, and at times the brilliance of my students.
  • Call me crazy, but I do love my sixth graders. They’re constantly on an emotional roller coaster, but I think that’s what makes them well…middle schoolers.
  • Teamwork/Collaboration:  We’re a small school AND a new school, so I’m sure that’s a factor. There’s so much to do and so few of us. Regardless, I love the people that I work with because each day I see how hard everyone is working together….and it shows in the consistency of how we teach, speak, and manage our students.
  • Our math department rocks! Our math department consists of four teachers + our math coach.  Call me biased, but I love the work that we’re doing and the things we are choosing to focus on. More about that in my next post :D! 
  • It’s hard, but I love that I co-teach all three of my math sections.  

Exploring the MathBlogsphere

These next few days I’ll be exploring the mathtwitterblogosphere, which I was introduced to by none other than Sam Shah after attending a new-teacher-boot camp/PD (led by @pispeak) with him over the summer.

One of my goals this year (besides eating on time and sleeping at a decent hour) is improving my questioning skills in the classroom so that I can give one or two concise questions that my students will explore with the overarching goal of creating a student-centric classroom.

Ambitious much? Hell freakin’ yes! 

Clearly I have much to learn and I can’t wait to explore what is out there!

One thought on “Ms. K’s Korner

  1. Lusana

    So proud of you Sahar! You’re gonna be an awesome teacher iA! Math was always anxiety inducing for me and I still remember the teachers who made it fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

