Math/Ramadan Snapshots: My Ramadan Lenscape

Ramadan officially started yesterday at sunset. For the next 30 days or so a billion plus Muslims will be observing the holy month by fasting. It’s a time of spiritual growth, extending generosity, and connecting with God. Observing Ramadan  looks very different across the Muslim world since it’s a VERY diverse community and it even varies from person to person as people establish their own personal Ramadan goals. I hope to capture some of my own moments in this month with photographs that reflect both something about Ramadan and math because … Duh!

And if anyone who happens to read my blog has any questions, feel free to ask and I’ll try my best to answer them.

4 thoughts on “Math/Ramadan Snapshots: My Ramadan Lenscape

  1. Pingback: Ramadan Lenscape: Parallel Lines, Symmetry, and Tiles – My Mathscape

  2. Pingback: Ramadan Lenscape: Shapes  – My Mathscape

  3. Lily

    Hi!
    First of all: I love your blog! I’m always curious to read your posts about Ramadan because I’m very interested in different cultures and religions. My question: Is it difficult to fast in daily school life? What do your students/colleagues think about it? Or do you maybe have some Muslim students/colleagues who fast too?
    Thank you,
    Lily

    1. Fasting itself is a lot easier when I am at work because the time goes by so much faster as opposed to when I am at home. It’s being spiritual and really being able to “feel” Ramadan that is harder when I am at work. Since Ramadan is a time to connect to God and work on my own relationship with him, that is so much harder to balance that with work. I have a few Muslim students so we connect on that point. They come up with me during lunch so they don’t have to be in the cafeteria. My students and coworkers are supportive and curious about it. I’ve had a lot of conversation with them about what is the purpose of fasting. What my day to day looks like in Ramadan, etc. I’m having a few over tomorrow for Iftar (break fast meal) l at my place! Hope that answers your question…if not or if you have others, please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

